Setting up the cardfile in Evernote

Moderators: atlanticflyer, funmumlu, Zygorp, butterfly, AlleyKat

isazar

Setting up the cardfile in Evernote

Post by isazar » Tue Aug 25, 2015 6:00 am

I just wanted to share how I set up my electronic cardfile in Evernote. I dont run a household but this system is the only one that has worked for me, and just so you know, I teach at a a local college, I am also a translator and I am starting my life and business coaching business, plus I am also finishing my second master´s degree and I write freelance, a blog, and short stories, so I do keep busy. I have made my own cardfile adaptation using Evernote and decided to share in case there were other SHEs/Flybabies that could use it. I have gotten many good ideas from lurking in the forums, so I want to share back. I hope this makes sense and can be useful.

Basically I use notebooks for the card file tab dividers and one note for each card. My set up is:

!Inbox - default notebook where everything goes before processing

@ ToDo - first stack where my current actions are, it is like my BWP. It has a notebook for each day of the week and I file the action on the day I plan to do it. I also file lesson plan notes from my class notebooks, and then return to their notebook after the class is done. All action notes start with a verb. Also translation projects that normally just need me to work on them a bit each day to finish before the deadline get a note "@trans Document #deadline", and I just move it form day to day, or file it in the day I plan to do most of the work. Daily routine notes can be filed on one day and moved once completed, and I also use On My Mind - Inmediate Action notes

.1 Monday
.2 Tuesday
.3 Wednesday
.4 Thursday
.5 Friday
.6 Saturday
.7 Sunday
08 August - notebook for the current month with all the things I need/want to do this month. Zones could get a checklist note for each one and be here and then get filed to next month once finished.